Tuesday, February 22, 2011

The Gecko and Sticky: The Power Potion by Wendelin Van Draanen

The Gecko and Sticky: The Power Potion
Van Draanen, Wendelin, ill. By Stephen Gilpin. The Gecko and Sticky: Power Potion. Alfred A. Knopf Books, 2010. Pgs. 228. Language: G, Violence: G, Sexual Content: G.

Dave Sanchez and Gecko are back in their fourth adventure as superheroes. By day, Dave is your average kids with a courier job. After school, her becomes Gecko, the secret crime-fighting superhero. So far he’s been able to keep his roles separate until Dr. Damien Black, an evil treasure hunter bent on gaining power, uses Dave’s courier service to obtain a package. Knowing he can’t deliver the package to Dr. Black, Dave breaks the cardinal rule of delivery service and opens it. Inside he discovers a potion that grants superpowers to whoever takes it. By doing so, he literally opens up a can of whole lot of trouble. When Dr. Black discovers that the potion he ordered gives him diarrhea instead of powers, he comes after Dave. Can Dave prevent the potion from falling into the wrong hands and save the world and himself?

A funny, superhero adventure for avid and reluctant readers alike. The bathroom humor is funny, but not overpowering. The plot is well-done and the characters are

well-developed for an early chapter book. The illustrations are entertaining and add a lot to the story. Readers who like Captain Underpants, Geronimo Stilton, and other such fantasy/superhero adventures will enjoy reading this book. EL (K-3), EL(4-6). ADVISABLE. Reviewer: Kira M, Youth Services Librarian, WHI Public Library.

No comments: