Saturday, February 14, 2009

Daughter of the Flames by Zoe Marriott


Marriott, Zoe Daughter of the Flames, 342 p. Candlewick, 2009. Violence - PG; Language - G; Sexual Content - G. Zira was severely scarred in the same fire that killed her mother. SHe has been lovingly raised by the religious women of her country, but since her mother's death, the whole nation has labored under the oppression of the hostile king who invaded and took control. Then one day Zira's true heritage is revealed and she must find a way to save her land anf follow her heart. While there is a bit of the supernatural inthis book, I would mostly consider it world-building. Fans of The Assassins of Tamurin or Cry of the Icemark will love this. Very strong female hero stuff! MS - ADVISABLE. Cindy, Library-Teacher.

No comments: