Sunday, January 15, 2017

Welcome to Wonderland: Home Sweet Motel by Chris Grabenstein-ADVISABLE



Grabenstein, Chris, Welcome to Wonderland: Home Sweet Motel. Pgs. 284. Penguin Random House, 2016. $13.99. Language: G, Mature Content: G, Violence: G

P.T. Wilkie lives in his grandpa’s motel and he loves it! It has free ice cream, poolside service, and fun attractions that should rival Disneyland. Unfortunately, his grandpa doesn’t have many paying customers. When he finds out his grandpa has to pay a bank loan of $100,000 off in 30 days or the Wilkie family will lose their home, P.T. decides to come up with his most hair-brained scheme yet to save Wonderland Motel. Will he succeed?

The illustrations are detailed and humorous. The plot is engaging and pulls the readers into P.T.’s world with ease. The characters are unique, but believable as kids. Together, the two make a hilarious masterpiece worth reading. Fans of Diary of Wimpy Kid, Dork Diaries, and Strange Case of Origami Yoda, or other humorous realistic fiction will enjoy reading this book. 

EL. MS. ADVISABLE. Reviewer: Kira M, Youth Services Librarian, WHI Public Library.

No comments: